Pursued

Asleep, I lived

Avoiding the pain of living

Avoiding the pain of existing.

But my heart yearned to run into the light

Begged to be made new

But in the morning my heart awakened numb.

Chronically stuck in a painful cycle

Craving more from life on my good days

Covetous of a life glowing in the light.

Days like this, my heart knew I was made for more

Days like this, muddled up my emotions

Decimated my heart, leaving an aching hole in its wake.

Ergo I learnt to numb my heart once more

Exterminated the sparks of light breaking free

Eradicated the pain yes but also the light.

Foolishly I devoured the serpent’s lies

Fed on the lie that there was nothing better than sleepwalking through life

Fell back into the painful cycle of avoidance.

Going through life in this way

Got me a façade of comfort

Got me slowly through the sporadic life crisis.

Howbeit sleepwalking could hardly get me through life’s dolor

Happening upon an abrupt life tragedy

Helped my eyes open to this truth.

In need of something to help shut out the pain

In need of someone to close the floodgates of pain, tragedy opened

In search of someone to answer all the hard questions, tragedy invited.

Journeying through questions about my origin and purpose

Just who am I to be?

Just what am I to do on this round terrestrial ball.

Keen on learning how to truly live

Knowing my heart needed resuscitating

Knowing my heart needed to beat under the light.

Living in this truth

Led me to a signal fire

Led my eyes to an explosion of the brightest dazzling lights.

Myriad combination of sparkling flames

Mixing and growing bigger

Mincing the tangible darkness all around.

Nimbly the light grew brighter forcing the darkness into extinction

Not putting up a fight, darkness waned out

Noiselessly drawing a distant object to sight.

Object glistening in the distance was of a man strewn on a cross

Object which caused a loud thumping in my heart was of a man strewn on a cross

Object, blessed object, which brought me gliding to the light was of a man strewn on a cross.

Peering at the Holy man, my rebel heart cried for salvation

Prayed for salvation from the painful cycle of avoidance

Prayed for salvation from myself.

Quickly my feet sprinted to the cross

Quietly and swiftly the cross flew to me

Quaking my heart with joy as it engulfed me in its awesome dazzling lights.

Relishing my heart’s sheer joy

Rhyming the tune of my heart with the dance at my feet

Relishing the taste of mercy undeserved.

Surely bought by the One who left His throne

Surely bought by the Man who bled and died

Sheer joy flooded through my heart.

The winter has passed, and the spring has arrived

The winter of gloom and pain has faded

The spring has come that I may stand in the presence of the Holy One to feel the light of His face.

Under the light, I know I’m never alone

Under the light, I can hope in a world made new

Under the light, I know the Holy One walks all life seasons with me.

Leave a comment