The Question of Origin and Destiny.

I awakened once
As my heart beat faster
To the questions in my soul
My consciousness seemed alight
As my soul danced around in confusion

What is this place?
Why am I here on this globe?
This round globe
That spins pointlessly around this other shiny globe

What is this place?
What has placed me here?
Who has placed me here?
What is it that I must do
Whilst I abide on this oddly shaped planet

My mind panicked
As my brain raced
Raced for answers
Answers that would help me understand me
Answers that I needed
Answers that I wanted
Answers that I searched for rather desperately

So I searched for my answers
I looked in books
Big famous books
Science books
Philosophy books
They all had theories
But none satisfied the aching in me
My soul wept
For I didn’t know who I was

And so I panicked again
I felt my mind slipping
I was frightened
So I pushed my questions aside
For fear that I might loose my mind
I became a living breathing drone
A mindless robot
Running after what others ran after

I was lost
And my consciousness knew this too
But we lied to each other
And smiled on the outside
We lied to each other
And joined the status quo
Whilst on the inside
We were crying, and confused, and just plain lost

 

“The Christian faith engages the profoundest problems the human mind can entertain and solves them completely and simply by pointing to the Lamb of God. The problems of origin and destiny have escaped the philosopher and the scientist, but the humblest follower of Christ knows the answer to both.”

– A.W. Tozer.

Leave a comment